Musical chairs …

Wow … has it REALLY been that long since I last posted?? :-(

In my defence, we’ve just finished a high-stakes game of musical chairs in my bit of BT – when the music stopped, there were 25% fewer chairs to sit on and they were arranged in a different way.

I had to dust off my CV and have a job interview for the first time in more years than I care to mention … fortunately, I secured one of the new chairs upon which my butt is now firmly placed … to recover from the experience, I had to take two weeks off!

Anyway, I’m now responsible for managing a group of business partners in a channels centre of excellence team providing channels expertise to the communications community in BT.

The major downside to this is that I’m having to hand over all my lovely social media toys to Mark Morrell, the BT Intranet Manager :-( I’m sure he’ll love and nurture them as if they were his own … and if not, I’ll be waiting for him in a dark alley one night when he least expects it!

Although I no longer have the luxury of majoring on social media in BT, I am still very involved … we’re actually doing some really interesting pilots engaging with our customers in on-line forums … and Twitter is also on the radar screen which is really exciting.

In recent weeks, there has been a huge amount of interest in engaging with customers and stakeholders externally in social channels from different bits of the company … we’re taking it slowly and not biting off more then we can chew. The great thing about this enthusiasm is that it’s coming from unexpected quarters and from people who seem to get it. I’m optimistic that we are doing, or plan to do, the right things … time will tell.

Anyway, one of my final parting shots as social-media-guy was to re-write our social media guidelines. If you’re interested, take a look (downloads a PDF file; some of the links in it pointing to BT Intranet pages obviously won’t work).

I plan to keep blogging … if you can call my poor performance over recent weeks blogging! Must do better …

add to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to ma.gnoliaadd to simpyseed the vineTailRank

14 comments

  1. Congrats with your new role. Good luck! Thanks for the pointer to the guidelines. I’ve been following Mark for sometime and will keep on following you.

  2. Thanks Samuel … most of what Mark writes is total drivel, but he occasionally makes an interesting point! ;-)

  3. Richard,

    Where you have led I have followed – drivel included! :-)

    I’ll be making it really interesting and compelling with social media now! ;-)

    He he he!

    Mark

  4. Glad to hear that you managed to grab a chair, it’s an all too familiar story at the mo!

    Very interested in following up on SM in BT particularly Twitter. Went to the CloudForce day, which was “food for thought”.

    Good luck and keep blogging :)

  5. Pingback: INJELEA
  6. Richard –

    Looks like we have worked in similar environments – I spent some time doing KM-related things at Telstra here in Australia, and touching on some Social Media. Read a bit about it at: http://delarue.net/blog/2007/01/the-knowhow-toolkit/. I have taken the liberty of referring to your work in a couple of presentations (with full attributions).

    Sorry to hear about your change – you have my empathy! Hope all goes well in the new role!

    – Keith De La Rue

  7. Musical chairs! What a great way of putting it!

    Richard. Glad to that BT are looking into the potetntial of tools like Twitter. I’m in the camp that as a communications company, we really should be at the forefront of this. Really keen to have a chat about what this might mean in ‘our world’ – Global Services. I’m emailing you too.

  8. Hi Richard,

    Bit late to the party but I just wanted to say thanks for all your help and insight over the years as social-media-guy and all the best for the future in your new constituency! Does it come with a moat? ;-)

    Andrew

  9. Andrew – thanks for your kind words … I might re-emerge one day as social-media-guy! In the meantime, just having some fun …

Leave a Reply

