In sickness and in health …

For me, having a blog is a bit like being in a relationship. It’s definitely not something to be entered into lightly …

When you start out, you’re nervous about the dynamics of it – will I have enough to say – will I be able to keep the conversation going, will people be interested … am I about to discover I’m actually very boring?!

At first, you don’t want to give too much away, fearful of what reaction you might get – don’t want to put yourself out there for fear of rejection.

Then you finally overcome your shyness and take the plunge. The first few posts you plan meticulously, write and rewrite and then rewrite again – you think they have to be perfect.

After a couple of posts, you get a reaction – it’s quite positive. Things are going well. As you invest more time your readership gets bigger, it becomes more fulfilling and the relationship becomes more comfortable. You don’t fret over every word you publish – you settle into a comfortable companionship.

However, in the back of your mind you know that if you neglect it for a few days you start to feel guilty about letting your readers down and worry they might go off and find someone else.

Sometimes you just can’t be bothered and want to be left alone, or have other things to do … but you know it’s not just about you anymore … you have someone else to consider now … you have to make a special effort … you take a deep breath … and end up writing something like this ….🙂

2 comments

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Allen Taylor

  2. As you work in communications, everythig you communicate is relevant…

    Seth Godin’s got a nice take on it – “I spend most of my blogging time deciding what not to post”.

    I have to fit my blogging time in round my learning time – and if you’re interested in data portability, VRM and social media… that’s a steep learning curve… maybe I should blog about the Coastguard instead…

    FWIW, even Stephen Fry commented to his gentle readers many years ago that everyone is entitled to a “I haven’t anything to write about” column occasionally🙂

Leave a Reply

